What our guests say…

  • “We have absolutely loved our stay here in your beautiful house. Such a rare find in Whangarei and a great base to visit so many nearby places. Thank you!” ~ Hayer family, Oct 2017, U.K. & Auckland
  • “Het is een prachtige locatie hier! Als we ooit weer naan NZ komen, komen we zeker hier terug. Prachtig!” ~ Mari en Angeline, Jan 2018, Nederland
  • “We loved our stay here, mainly and especially because of Tony & Jennie” ~ Marcio & Regione, March 2018, Brazil
  • “Lovely place! with great hosts. Jennie & Tony I'll miss you. I will definitely come back.” ~ Shoko, May 2018, Tokyo, Japan
  • “Very beautiful villa with fantastic owners. Jennie & Tony are the perfect hosts” ~ Bruno & Borja, September 2018, Netherlands and Spain
  • “Accueil chaleureux des propriétaires. Informations très pertinentes sur ce qu'il y a à faire dans la région.Chambre très confortable avec un grand lit King. Petit déjeuner copieux et savoureux.Très bonne expérience.” ~ Patrick & Sylviane, November 2018, France
  • “The HotelsCombined Recognition of Excellence is not a ranking list, but a group of outstanding accommodations chosen based on a strict set of criteria. Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast boasts a high satisfaction rating among guests and travel industry experts, receiving 93 reviews for an impressive rating 10/10. “We are thrilled to be working with the best of accommodation in New Zealand and Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast is certainly among them” said Alberto Castellucchio, market manager of HotelsCombined New Zealand “What is different about the Recognition of Excellence is the way information is gathered and analysed:it all depends on the guest and his or her experience with that particular accommodation.”” ~ HotelsCombined - Recognition of Excellence 2018, United Kingdom
  • “My wife and I spent last night at this excellent B and B. The accommodation is well located a short car ride from the centre of town. Jennie and her husband are brilliant hosts who could not have made us more welcome and been more attentive to our requirements. They spent time with us before we arrived and during our stay helping us to plan our month in NZ. We have no hesitation in recommending them and will return on our next visit.” ~ Tricia & Roger, Jan 2019, London UK
  • “Hi Jennie and Tony, We are home in the UK after our holiday to NZ and we just wanted to send you a personal thankyou for sharing your lovely house with us and for help to make our time in NZ so enjoyable. Your welcoming, smile, all the ittle extras, and generosity, in both the time you spent with us and information you share with us, will stay in our memory for a long time. Best wishes from us both, Alan and Judith Davidson” ~ Judith and Alan, Feb 2019, United Kingdom
  • “We can't thank you enough for a fantastic stay and introducing us to the joys of Whangarei. Looking forward to next time :-)” ~ Vanea & Peter, March 2019, Sydney, Australia
  • “Superb hospitality - by far the best place we stayed in on our 5 week tour of NZ” ~ Ted & Mary, April 2019, Vancouver Island, Canada
  • “I highly recommend this place!:) Not only is the house absolutely gorgeous (my ideal house for sure.. house goals!) but the hosts were just amazing. Jennie and Tony are a lovely couple who greeted us in their gorgeous house with a warm welcome. The bedroom/bathroom was beautiful a very relaxed atmosphere and comfortable bed.. We had a lovely breakfast and great conversations. Also, cant forget to add this in.. we were staying on the night of my partners birthday and I had told Jennie. she was sweet enough to put up a happy birthday banner in our bedroom. so sweet!:) Thankyou Jennie and Tony, you have an absolutely gorgeous house well done, and thank you so much for your lovely hospitality. you were certainly an addition to our lovely experience of NZ and guys dont even hesitate... pick Chelsea House, you wont regret it:) oh and take on their recomendations to the waterfall its only 5 mins from their house... stunning!! :)” ~ Denise & Nick, May 2019, Adelaide, South Australia
  • “Jennie & Tony are amazing hosts. I stayed with them for a week whilst starting work at the hospital and I highly recommend Chelsea House B&B to those coming to do the same. They both have years of experience leading tours and this shows in their attention to detail for making their guests truly welcome. I loved staying here and you will too! Highly recommended A***” ~ Adam, June 2019, United Kingdom
  • “Dear Jennie I want to thank you for hosting me at Chelsea House yesterday. What a treat!! When you get into a new place and meet new people.. there are many options... best to feel comfortable/at ease and relax like you had been there many times and just coming back after a long absence. ALL of these is what you made me feel at Chelsea House. You made me feel a member of your family, offering me tea, coffee, fruits, loaf of freshly baked loaf... with that simplicity and a happy smile on your face. The room was perfect. Breakfast with fresh fruits and yoghurts and baked croissant. No detail missing Helpful is not the word... is much more than that.. its quality time... which makes a BIG difference when you stay in a place like this. At the end it was not just a night I enjoyed .. it was an experience that I loved and appreciate you shared with me. Muchas gracias, Jose” ~ Jose, July 19, Chile
  • “Thank you for making our visit so marvellous. This is the best B&B experience (air or otherwise!!) we have ever had xx” ~ Lise & Ed, October 2019, Toronto, Canada
  • “Gratitude Jen & Tony for sharing your special home just before lockdown. We will be back if only for a proper hug!” ~ Cari & Steve, March 2020, Woodstock, New York, USA
  • “Congratulations Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast on being a Travellers’ Choice 2020 Winner. Each year, we comb through reviews, ratings, and saves from Travellers everywhere, and use that information to award the very best. You’re part of an exclusive group and we ant to help you celebrate this major accomplishment.” ~ Trip Advisor, Trip Advisor, Worldwide
  • “Hi Jennie and Tony We had a great day yesterday. Saw the magnificent Whangarei falls and park, walked around AH Reed park, beautifully maintained I have to say. Then on to the quarry gardens. Lots of enthusiastic volunteers working to repair the flood damage. It is something to be proud of. I need a few of them in my garden. Then on to Muir Park and the Hatea trail. We had lunch at the Town Basin Marina which was well deserved after our excercise and it set us up for the walk back to the car (10,000 odd steps). We then drove up the Memorial Drive but the lookout was closed due to repairmen working on the aerial. So off home and arrived here at 6.00 pm. Terrific short stay and will have to follow it up some day. Many thanks for making it such a great trip. Regards Gill and Ian” ~ Ian & Gill, Sept 2020, Auckland
  • “This would have to be the best bnb in NZ. We stayed here 4 nights. From the moment we walked in we felt at home. Jennie explained the history of the old house and then showed us to our room. The room was spacious and extremely clean as was the ensuite. We were given the use of their lounge which had a small table in it. With use of the microwave, plates and cutlery available in a unit in the spacious passage way we were able to buy at the supermarket and cook our own meals. Breakfasts were filling served at the long table in the kitchen. As we didn't eat the croissants Jennie filled the with ham, cheese and tomato for our lunches. As we were away from home for a while I was able to catch up on our washing using their washing machine. Jennie and Tony are superb hosts, there if needed, if not, in the background leaving us to our own devices. We would highly recommend this BnB.” ~ Gayle & Noel, Nov 2020, Matamata
  • “Fantastic hospitality Chose to stay at Chelsea House because of its proximity to an event we were attending in Whangarei. What a great find! Jennie & Tony are hosts extraordinaire - lovely people and a warm, welcoming home . Jennie went above and beyond to ensure we were well looked after. Best breakfast we've encountered in our bnb travels. Lovely comfortable well equipped rooms. Would definitely return” ~ Janine, 2021, Auckland
  • “This would have to be the best bnb in NZ. We stayed here 4 nights. From the moment we walked in we felt at home. Jennie explained the history of the old house and then showed us to our room. The room was spacious and extremely clean as was the ensuite. We were given the use of their lounge which had a small table in it. With use of the microwave, plates and cutlery available in a unit in the spacious passage way we were able to buy at the supermarket and cook our own meals. Breakfasts were filling served at the long table in the kitchen. As we didn't eat the croissants Jennie filled the with ham, cheese and tomato for our lunches. As we were away from home for a while I was able to catch up on our washing using their washing machine. Jennie and Tony are superb hosts, there if needed, if not, in the background leaving us to our own devices. We would highly recommend this BnB.” ~ Gayle, NZ
  • “Great Bed and Breakfast - beautiful old home, super clean with very friendly hosts Chelsea House is a gorgeous old home, beautifully renovated and super clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the hosts very welcoming and obliging. They went out of their way to be helpful and provided great local knowledge on places to eat and the region. A wonderful stay!” ~ Lozza 2021, Canberra, Australia
  • “Excellent in every way, a standard by which others should be judged, a beautiful old kauri villa, comfortable, and quite but handy to all that you could need. Host went out of her way to provide some cleaning materials to allow us to clean a relatives headstone at Maunu cemetery, a simple gesture that meant so much.” ~ Nigel, 2022, Australia
  • “Worth a visit to Whangarei - just to stay! absolutely everything was tops. hosts Jennie and Tony went out of their way to look after us, including travel tips and destination advice beyond their own region. the breakfast was yummy and included home made gf goodies for me! we were reluctant to leave.” ~ Kerry 2022, Australia
  • “How comfortable the room and bed felt. The house was very homely and the hosts were very welcoming and great chatting with. This was my first time B&B and I enjoyed it. Will go back again for sure. Thank you for a great stay and breakfast. You don't even need the small things like shampoo and shower gel everything is all provided. Was awesome!! Great value for your money!!” ~ Anne, 2022, New Zealand
  • “The most wonderful stay! Jennie is a fantastic host. The room was incredibly clean, and breakfast was perfect. Loved the walk into town that Jennie detailed for me as well. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️” ~ Zach, New York Travel Writer, Jan 2023, USA
  • “I am pleased to confirm Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast​ has been selected as our winner for Boutique Guest House​ of the Year in Northland 2023 This is a great achievement and we’re proud to select you as one of our prestigious winners. We’re one of the few independent global awarding bodies and as such, we always like to share the good news” ~ THA - Travel & Hospitality Awards, United Kingdom